Serpent in the Woods

In the woods I wandered, basket in hand,
Seeking wood for our hearth, across the land.
My little brother waited, hungry and small,
For a meal to warm him, within our small hall.

Through bushes and brambles, I ventured with care,
In search of dry branches, so light and so fair.
But as I reached for a twig, what did I see?
A slithering serpent, looking right at me!

Its scales glistened brightly, with eyes gleaming bright,
In the dappled sunlight, such a fearsome sight.
With a hiss and a flicker of its long, slender tail,
The snake coiled around me, making me frail.

But fear not, dear brother, for I stood my ground,
With courage and wit, in this wild surround.
I spoke softly to the snake, calming its fears,
And gently it loosened, shedding its sneers.

With a grateful slither, it slipped away,
Leaving me unharmed, in the light of the day.
I gathered my wood, with a heart still astir,
And returned to my brother, safe and secure.

So listen, dear sibling, to this tale I tell,
Of the girl in the woods, where the wild creatures dwell.
For even in danger, with courage and grace,
We find our way home, to our rightful place.

Leave a comment

I’m Shreya

A curious and creative soul embarking on my journey of translating my thoughts into words, my emotions into chapters, and my experiences into stories.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started